BOOK REVIEWS

EVERYTHING EVERYTHING BY NICOLA YOON – REVIEW (spoilers)

My rating: 3.5/5 stars

(haven’t written a review in a while so this is sort of going to be all over the place, but I hope you don’t mind)

So this book is obviously really hyped at the moment, with the movie having just come out, although I had wanted to read this for ages and had really high hopes for it. Unfortunately, for me it didn’t really match up to all the hype which is sometimes the case with overhyped books but this was particularly disappointing because I absolutely ADORE Nicola Yoon’s other novel, The Sun Is Also A Star, so the problems I have with Everything Everything have nothing to do with the writing style because everything that I loved about the book was because of the beautiful writing. I always love a contemporary that makes me feel something and this made me want to grab someone I love by the hand and go off on adventures and travel the world.

 

18692431

But that, in light of Maddy’s situation didn’t work well at all. Seeing as (before the big plot twist that I will get in to in a bit) Maddy has SCID (Severe Combined Immunodeficiency) and is able to go outside and travel and do all these things that an actual person with the illness can’t do – it just feels very poorly thought out, especially for those looking forward to correct representation.

On the other hand it did offer an accurate portrayal of Munchausen’s Disorder by Proxy, which is a mental illness which convinces people that their loved ones are extremely ill in order to keep them close and feel needed. If you’ve read the book, you’ll know that this is what Maddy’s mother has. Although the fact that this was used as a plot device really bothered me.

Now, you can’t really write a review for a contemporary without bringing up the warm fuzzies. In this case, I’d give it a 4/5 for the fuzziness, but that really depends on your insta-love tolerance. I don’t really mind it, although at times I did feel a little overwhelmed by it. But oh boi some of those adorable lines they share made my heart melt. Nicola Yoon sure knows how to make you wanna fall in love.

So, all that being said, do I think it’s an overall good read? Sure, although I feel like you should be aware that it has issues before going in to it and do a little more research on that when you’re done reading it since it’s always best to be aware of what you’re hyping up. But it does make you feel all warm and fuzzy, I love both Maddy and Olly as characters, and Nicola Yoon is just an incredible writer.

thr_burned

Leave a Reply

