MAY WRAP UP WOOP WOOP

OKAY I DO NOT KNOW WHAT HAPPENED TO ME THIS MONTH BUT I READ 7 BOOKS?!?! see, if you know me at all you know that I am a very slow reader. I wish I weren’t but it’s true and I usually am surprised to even have read 3 books in a month and when I just checked my goodreads to write up this blog post it occurred to me that I’ve 7 books this month and just woah.

The first book I read this month was The Bone Season by Samantha Shannon which I 17199504gave a 4.5 stars because I loved it! I mean, it does have the typical YA dystopian trope of a teenage girl who is the only one who can save the world and stuff but honestly the writing was amazing and the world itself was pretty unique I mean CLAIRVOYANTS. I haven’t read a dystopian since divergent like three years ago because honestly most of them aren’t worth the hype but boi this one though.

Then, I read Elantris by Brandon Sanderson which was such an interesting fantasy read. It was also my first ever Brandon Sanderson book and I completely understand what all the hype is about. The world building and the writing definitely captures you from the very first page. I also read The Shock of the Fall by Nathan Filer which I surprisingly gave 5 stars. I say surprisingly because I’d never seen this book on bookstagram and I 20696422honestly picked it up because the synopsis intrigued me and I have to admit I haven’t done that with a book since I became a part of the book community on social media. It was my first 5 star read in ages and honestly such a devastating story but also such a realistic portrayal of mental illness and grief.

And after that I just read two 5 star books in a row and I cannot stop thinking about 25909375these two books. They have consumed my life, I’m constantly recommending them to people. I already have reviews for both of them on this blog so I’m not going to say anything about them on this post other than THEY ARE FABULOUS. The books are Wing Jones by Katherine Webber and Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel.

The other two books I read were The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern and Beloved by Toni Morrison. The Night Circus is one of my all time favorites so it was a reread for me and I still loved it just as much as I did the first time. And I read Beloved, because it is assigned reading for school and my final is coming up in two weeks. Keeping that in mind, I really doubt I can keep up this kind of miracle reading speed in june considering I have exams but then it is Ramadan and I am home a lot so who knows.

I’m currently reading The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh which I am loving! So excited to read more of it. I also started the audiobook for The Inexpicable Logic of my Life by Benjamin Alire Saenz which I might possibly love more than Ari and Dante?!?! *shock* *gasp* although I don’t know yet so we’ll see.

and as always, here are my favorite bookstagram pictures I posted this month:

photo_2017-05-31_18-17-48photo_2017-05-31_18-17-43

 

 

 

Well, that’s all folks! *takes bite of carrot*

thr_burned

Leave a Reply

