BOOK REVIEWS

With Malice by Eileen Cook – REVIEW

Before I start this review I feel like I need to address the fact that I haven’t posted on here in ages even though it was one of my new years resolutions to do so AND I AM SORRY OKAY. Moving on to the review:
So I had pretty high hopes for this book, considering Ariel Bissett over on YouTube (whom I love) included it in her favorite books of 2016, it’s been getting a ton of good reviews and the synopsis was hella intriguing. If you have not heard of this book before, I’ll include a little bit of the synopsis here:


“Eighteen-year-old Jill Charron wakes up in a hospital room, leg in a cast, stitches in her face and a big blank canvas where the last six weeks should be. She discovers she was involved in a fatal car accident while on a school trip in Italy. A trip she doesn’t even remember taking. She was jetted home by her affluent father in order to receive quality care. Care that includes a lawyer. And a press team. Because maybe the accident…wasn’t an accident.”


So I ended up giving this book a 3 stars on Goodreads, maybe 3.5 but I’m really indecisive malice_coverabout it, and that was because despite the fact that I really liked the concept something about the book itself left me feeling a bit eh. I just felt like it was moving a bit slow for me, personally, and the writing was average (nothing special). I also listened to the audiobook and the narrator’s voice was … kinda whiny? Is it just me who thinks that?

But then that’s just my problems with the book, I’m not hating on it because I actually ended up enjoying the story. There was a lot of suspense and I was so frustrated and stressed out for the main character, Jill, because she couldn’t get herself out of this awful situation. It’s sort of like those movies that you watch late at night to give yourself a thrill without having to watch a horror movie.


SPOILERS:

So first off, I feel like Jill handled the whole thing pretty well, I mean I would’ve definitely lost it if I had been in her situation. And it honestly was upsetting for me as a reader to gradually find out things about the “crime” like the knife with her fingerprints on it. I mean, that was just a shock because when you are reading a book from first person, it creates such a personal connection between you and the protagonist and I don’t think a lot of people reading this book would’ve imagined that Jill could have stabbed Simone.

I also really  enjoyed that the story isn’t just told through Jill’s point of view and we get those little snippets from the police interviews, which gives us an idea of what everyone else is thinking about the accident. For example, Simone’s parents. It made me so mad, knowing how mislead they are about their daughter but that just further instilled in my mind how much I dislike Simone. I mean of everything that we’ve been shown about her, I can’t say she’s done anything remotely kind for Jill, instead she trolls her blog, lies to her parents and blames Jill for everything and just bleh.

The book really did show how much the media can manipulate people and change everything about a situation. Like all the stuff on the Justice for Simone blog abut “chilly Jilly”. I think that’s the most interesting part of this story. I brought this book up in my English class the other day regarding how closely memory and identity is associated, so I guess if you choose to analyze this book it is rather fascinating.

thr_burned

1 thought on “With Malice by Eileen Cook – REVIEW”

Leave a Reply

