THE NIGHT CIRCUS BY ERIN MORGENSTERN REVIEW

10339954

Format: Audiobooks

Goodreads rating: 4.03/5 stars

My rating: 4/5 stars

I don’t know how I have not yet written a review of this book yet oh my gosh it completely slipped my mind but here we are. Let’s head back to the circus for a little bit shall we?

The circus arrives without warning. No announcements precede it. It is simply there, when yesterday it was not. Within the black-and-white striped canvas tents is an utterly unique experience full of breathtaking amazements. It is called Le Cirque des Rêves, and it is only open at night.

 ✨✨✨✨

The Night Circus happened to be the first audiobook I’ve ever listened to so there was both the experience of a new book and the experience of listening to it being read that was all just very new to me. I do not own a physical copy of the book, I plan to one day but right now I don’t and I don’t know if I’m missing out on something in terms of the reading experience. Regardless, I really really enjoyed it.

The story itself, felt to me like an adventure. It’s been a while since I have actually been able to completely immerse myself in a book and occasionally forget that I am reading (I feel like any reader would understand how epic that feeling is) and this book did that for me. The detail when it came to all the descriptions of the circus just blew my mind, I honestly felt like I was there and finishing the book felt like I was leaving and I didn’t want to leave. There were this brief chapters here and there that were in second person which I absolutely adored.

Some people describe this book as a love story and honestly, I can’t say I agree. Granted, there is romance but it is just a small aspect of the story and nothing more. The real story is more about the circus and us, as readers discovering it’s mysteries as we move from chapter to chapter. The reveal that Tsukiko was one of Alexander’s students actually made me pause the book for a second because whoa.

The variety in all the different characters was actually very fun to read about. My favorite character is hard to pick honestly because I was really attached to almost all of them. The Murray twins definitely stand out though, and I felt like I was actually watching them grow up and it felt right that they should grow up to take on the circus seeing as they were practically born for the job. And I really really loved Bailey, he is just this precious little human.

The competition between Marco and Celia honestly confused the hell out of me, I guess that was the intended effect but either way. Speaking of which, there was so much direct focus on the competition and setting it up that got blurred and lost in the circus itself, later in the story. At some points, I forgot there was even a competition at all. Other than that and the fact that it was rather slow paced, I don’t have any complaints.

thr_burned.png

 

One Reply to “THE NIGHT CIRCUS BY ERIN MORGENSTERN REVIEW”

Leave a Reply

