The Crown by Kiera Cass REVIEW (and a little goodbye to The Selection)

Format: Paperback

Number of pages: 278

Goodreads rating: 3.82/5 stars

My rating: 3.5/5 stars

Alright, folks, I was all set to finish off this book today and then write a vague annoyed review about it but godammit this book made me cry and here I am with a hot mug of tea, not 5 minutes after I put down the book so you better prepare for some emotions.

Let’s just begin with just the book before we get to other sentiments. Overall, it was good (good good *sobs*). I gave it a 3.5 stars and I think that is a pretty good rating considering that I was all set to give it a 2 star rating. I mean, these books have earned the place in many people’s hearts as ‘guilty pleasure’ reads, much like reality tv. And the writing is in no way phenomenal, the main character, Eadlyn, is an annoying little snob most of the time and I wanna shove her, but regardless I enjoyed it.

I like the fact that Kiera Cass included not one, but two gay suitors in this book (a statistic that she had unintentionally overlooked in the past four books). Although it was sort of stereotypical for one of them to be the one that was interested in fashion, it was sort of made up for by the fact that he discovered himself and honestly, it surprised me. I thought Hale would be the winner of The Selection, I honestly did. And for that I applaud you, Kiera Cass. You managed to surprise me in an otherwise very predictable book.

Speaking of predictability, this book definitely had it. I mean, it’s about a princess, what did you expect? She ended up with the man she loves and everything ends up almost cartoonish in it’s perfection. I’m not kidding, the bit at the end where Madrid shows up all ‘this won’t be the last you’ve heard from me’ reminded me of a disney movie. Regardless of all that, I had fun reading this. This book. This series.

✨✨✨✨

Now on to the sappy stuff. I started this series when I was 14 and I just finished it a few days after my 18th birthday. I didn’t plan for it to be sentimental, I honestly just wanted to finish my Goodreads reading challenge. And I didn’t ever think of The Selection as a series I had a grown with but it has become that.

This is not even in the top 5 of my favorite series. Not even close. But these annoying ass characters and these predictable plot lines meant something to me when I was 14 and although it’s not the same, they still mean something to me now. So yeah, I cried a little over the end of this series and that’s always kinda nice (don’t get me wrong, I’m emotional, NOT heartbroken. I do not want to know about Eadlyn’s married life and children, Kiera Cass. You did good)

thr_burned

Leave a Reply

