BOOK REVIEWS

Flawed by Cecelia Ahern – REVIEW 

Rating: 3/5 stars 

This book gets so many mixed reviews, I honestly wasn’t even gonna pick it up. But then it was lying on my shelf and one day I just ACCIDENTALLY started it. I know, what you’re thinking: how does one accidentally start a book? Well I was just trying to figure out which book to read next and I was going through my TBR pile, reading a page of every book until I came upon Flawed. And before I realized it I had read 30 pages.

So, I suppose what I’m saying is that it’s initially an interesting concept. Much like the Selection series. It’s too draggy, not much plot or everything is all over the place, but you just gotta keep reading.
In case you don’t know what this book is about and you’re mwindering what on earth I’m rambling about, lemme sum it up in a non-spoiler-y way:

It’s a dystopian novel about a society where the slightest “immoral” mistake is punished by branding the letter F on your body. It’s public humiliation to be considered “Flawed”. And then there’s this apparently perfect and flawless girl called Celestine North somehow ends up in this huge mess. That’s all I can really say.

I found it predictable in some parts or confusing. Although that is entirely to do with the way it was written, I suppose. The premise and the overall concept, I found terrifying. You come across all these Flawed people who barely did anything and they’re just publicly humiliated and disgraced. And then it occurred to me that our world is already slowly falling in to this sort of society. Discrimination is a serious issue, and I feel like this book sort of tries to bring that up, very vaguely though.

I didn’t hate the book, didn’t love it either. Will I pick up the second book next year? Eh, who knows. Maybe I might “accidentally ” pick up that one too 😂

Leave a Reply

