BOOK REVIEWS

NEVER ALWAYS SOMETIMES BY ADI ALSAID

24338298

Author: Adi Alsaid

Pages: 308 pages

Goodreads rating: 3.39 avg. rating

My rating: 3.5/5 stars

There was a lot of buzz around this book’s release over on booktube and that’s how I found out about it. It’s about two best friends, Julia and Dave, who at the beginning of high school make a list of Nevers; high school cliches they would never do, like going to prom or throwing a party. Except as senior year rolls around they have the idea to do every one of the Nevers before they graduate. 

It’s your typical high school contemporary, I guess. Cute, fluffy, with just the right amount of self discovery. I liked it, this book was like a cute modern day John Hughes movie in book form. 

There were some parts that felt a little draggy and slow, which led me to not give it as high a rating as I would have liked. And I didn’t get to really connect too well with the characters as much as I would’ve liked to. But there were a lot of fun bits that genuinely made me laugh, because this is a high school comedy in book form.

It’s just a pretty darn cute book, I will give it that! I mean just look at that cover, you know it’s going to be cute. If you’re stuck in a book hangover this is a pretty good book to help you through it.It’s quick, and easy to get through and just a fluffy contemporary.

Leave a Reply

